30 Days to Yelling Less: Days 4 & 5

Day Four was a terrible day. Saturdays are hard because both mommy and daddy can have a temper when it comes to our kids getting out of hand. For some reason we were both on edge and it was a very yell filled day. Needless to say, I ended the day feeling awful. 

 

It tends to be this way when we have weekend plans. The day is filled with mommy and daddy needing to get ready for said plans. In this case we were getting ready for not one, but TWO parties. One Saturday night at church and one Sunday night at our house. This entailed cooking, baking, washing dishes, and cleaning the whole house. So of course the children are extra rambunctious and loud. Also baking and cooking stress mommy out. It’s not that I’m bad at it. I think I am actually quite good in the kitchen. But I am a high stressed person. So I need focus and quiet when it comes to cooking. Don’t ask me why, I just do.

 

This is no excuse though. I need to learn to balance kitchen work and child craziness. It is just proving to be difficult.

 

Day Five was a bit better. Going to church always helps me get a handle on the difficulties I faced that week and a fresh new prospective for the next week. I love my 20/30 + Sunday school class. It is a small group of adults ranging in age from 20s-50s who are all going through different things and we lean on each other for prayer and support. I could not be doing this challenge with out them.

 

Any who, with day four behind me and a fresh outlook for the week I did a bit better. It also helps when you have guests over to help your kids have some fun while you sit and unwind a bit. 

 

I still feel optimistic about this challenge. This is great because, to be honest, I thought the first few days were going to be so hard that I wouldn’t want to continue. Don’t get me wrong, it is hard. It is so hard and frustrating but with God’s help and the support of my wonderful husband I am able to continue. I want to be the best mom I can be. So I am going to continue to work hard at this.

Leave your thoughts here...

