Little Monkey’s Growing up!

Little Monkey Boy's Birthday Pies.

Little Monkey Boy’s Birthday Pies.

My wonderful little Monkey Boy turned two yesterday!

I know most parents say this but Man! Time really does fly by! And with Monkey Boy it seems to have gone warp speed. He has done everything way earlier than my first son. Trying to keep up with spunky big brother I suppose.

This year I feel a little bad because I just didn’t have it in me to do a big party. For all of Spunky Boy’s birthdays I have done big themed parties with friends and favors and games. So of course I wanted to do the same for Monkey Boy. But with all that’s been going on with my family (there may be a post about it at some point) the last three months in 2013 were crazy and tiring and by the time January came around I was spent. Planning a party and inviting people to my house just didn’t seem fun. So we had a small party with just family. I did want to make it somewhat special though so I made his favorite desert. PIE! Let me tell you, this little guy is obsessed with pie. He asks for it all the time. Don’t get me wrong. He likes cake but this two year old has an obsession with all things pie. He even gobbled down broccoli quiche because I told him it was egg pie.

He was pretty pleased with his two happy birthday apple pies. 🙂

I often worry about what it says about me as a mom if I do things less extravagant for my second child then my first.  I know that with your second you are a lot more busy and more strapped for cash then with just one kid.  (Although we were pretty strapped with just one.) But still, I feel bad. Like I’m letting him down or loving one better than the other.

My husband just reminds me that I do love him just as much and that he is only two and probably won’t remember. Although if he did remember something it would be that he got pie. It’s all about the pie.

Leave your thoughts here...

