Cloth Diapering

582041_4239375023811_1560829355_n

When I was pregnant with my first son I toyed with the idea of cloth diapering. But I had no idea where to start or what to do. I was still thinking of the cloth diapers our parents or grandparents used to use. With pins and rubber pants and diaper rashes and smelly piles of dirty diapers and tons of washing. I also didn’t know anyone else who clothed diapered. I was over whelmed and intimidated and I ended up being too scared to try.

When I was pregnant with my second son I was friends with a group of moms that were all pregnant too and they started cloth diapering. I was still kind of freaked out by the whole process but it looked a little better than I had imagined. They all used covers and pre-folds. No pins and the covers were able to be used several times so you just had to change the pre-fold. I finally decided to give it a try. My husband was all for it too. (Anything to save a buck.) It was going pretty well. Then I met another momma who really introduced me to the huge world of modern cloth diapering. I was amazed at all the great designs. Each brand had its own unique features and I soon became hooked on different types of diapers.

A few months later we needed to get a new washer. So we got a real nice front loader. Because it took different amounts of water than our regular top loader it made the washing process a little bit more difficult. They were not getting clean and started to smell. I got discouraged from constantly trying different wash routines. So I switched to part-time cloth diapering. It was hard having to do diapers everyday and it took ALL day with this new washer.

Then, recently, another friend of mine introduced me to the world of mommy blogs. Oh. My. Goodness! I had no idea it was such a huge thing. The great thing about mommy blogs is that tons of them do giveaways! Yes, FREE stuff.  She showed me a site that listed all the current cloth diaper giveaways and I started entering them. I probably entered 50+ giveaways in just two months. I finally won one. Now I know it’s not much, just one giveaway, but it gave me a new passion for diapers again. We have recently had to really tighten our budget so I am buckling down and trying to cloth diaper full-time. (Except at night. I just can’t seem to get that right.)

I have recently tried out more types of diapers. I am just now trying to think of all the different ones I have. I didn’t realize I had so many different kinds. Some I really like and some I just hate. I am going to try to do a review on each type of diaper I have over the next couple weeks. So feel free to follow my blog to see those posts. Also feel free to comment with your cloth diaper experiences. Which ones are your favorites? What difficulties have you had with cloth? I would love to hear from you.

Leave your thoughts here...

