Loud

My boys are loud.

Not rude loud or misbehaving loud (Usually). They just love to hear the sound of their own voices.

No matter what they are doing they have to talk or sing or just make some kind of noise. My youngest especially. And it started early. I have videos from when Monkey boy was 6 months old and learning to crawl. If he was moving he had to hum or babel. It continued to when he was walking. It was quite funny to watch. He would be sitting quietly and then get up and as soon as he started moving, his mouth was open and he was belting it out.

The thing about this is it got old real fast. There is almost never any silence all day long. Even My oldest son’s “quiet time” when little brother is sleeping isn’t really quiet. He gets to take toys and books into mommy and daddy’s room and play by himself for an hour or so to give mommy a break. But I can usually hear him singing or acting out a scene with his Legos. I have to constantly take deep breaths and calm myself down. Otherwise I will explode with anger and emotion. Even as I write this both boys are wrestling on the floor screeching and making random loud noises and then screaming when the other one pokes them. It doesn’t help that we don’t have any carpets and very little to no insulation in our walls so sound bounces and carries. Even If I send them to their room to play behind a closed door I can hear everything they say to each other.

So how do I stay sane? Well…I don’t. I can’t do anything with out noise nearby. It is constant. It has even, many times, come between Running Man and I. When he gets home from work  all we want to do is talk about our days with each other. It seems like as soon as one of us opens our mouth they are right there shouting or singing or crying because they can’t find their juice cup. We shush them, get them situated, and begin to talk again and they start to run around going ah! ah! ah! on top of their lungs. It usually ends with us yelling at the kids or each other and giving up talking at all.

I love my boys but sometimes I feel like this constant noise is too much to handle….

2 thoughts on “Loud

Leave your thoughts here...

