I Love You

My family has never been good at expressing their feelings to one another. Growing up I’m pretty sure my mom said I love you, I just can’t actually remember. But as my sister and I got older the I love yous got lost in teenage angst and, as far as I can remember, it was rarely said in our teenage years.

It was of course always implied. We knew we were loved but it just never got said out loud. I also never heard I’m proud of you or really any other verbal praises.

Then one day, after I moved out and got married, I started thinking about never seeing my mom again. Or my sister or my grandma. That thought terrified me. So much that it became an obsession. An irrational fear – if you will.

I remember this clearly although I can’t tell you the exact day. I decided that they needed to know that I love them. It was a very out-of-the-box thing for me to do but after visiting my mom, before I left, I turned and said “I love you mom”. I remember the look of shock on her face. She hesitated for a moment and then said it back.

The same thing happened when I said it too my sister. We were never close as kids and still aren’t “besties” now, although we are way closer than we ever were growing up. So saying it to her was way weird. But it was a good weird.

Now every time I see or talk to any of my family I always tell them I love them. Even some of my friends.

Part of me does it out of habit now, but it is a good habit to have. I never want them to have to guess how I feel. It’s still hard for us to express things to each Β other but at least in the end they know I love them.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/prompt-time-after-time/

9 thoughts on “I Love You

  1. It is so important for us to say what we mean… and sometimes it sure feels like love is a choice – not a feeling. Even when we are upset or mad with each other, we still have to make the choice to act in a loving way!

    You are so right – we just never know when something may happen, and just the simple act of saying ‘I love you’ can have such a positive effect on our relationships πŸ™‚

    Great post, Thanks for sharing

    ML

    • Thank you. I love getting comments from you. They are always so uplifting. πŸ™‚

      Yes, love is most definitely a choice. I think that is one of the most unrealized things in society today. People treat love like a feeling and discard it when they are not happy anymore. It makes me sad to see all the failed relationships and friendships because of the lack of commitment to make a continual effort to love one another.

      Sometimes saying I love you even when I don’t feel it in that moment helps me to keep going and sometimes can even defuse a tense situation.

      πŸ™‚ RMR πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Birthday Cake Tradition | 365 Days of Thank You

  3. Pingback: Daily prompt: Ritual | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: I Wanna Live Again | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s too early yet | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave your thoughts here...

