Breasts: Conversations with a 4 Year Old

This morning I was getting ready and my boys were, as usual, right there in the room because what is privacy really? My oldest saw my bra laying on the bed and picked it up.

Spunky Boy: Mom, I found your thing.

Me: Bra

Spunky Boy: Yeah, bra. Can I wear it?

Me: Well, you don’t have the chest for it.

Spunky Boy: Will I when I grow up?

Me: No sweetie. You are a boy. Girls have breasts when they grow up.

Spunky Boy: Does Becca have them? (A friend of ours. I changed her name for privacy.)

Me: Yes she does.

Spunky Boy: But she doesn’t have a baby.

Me: You’re right she doesn’t. Girls don’t have to have babies to have breasts.

Spunky Boy: But there is milk in them and babies drink out of them.

Me: (Trying not too laugh to hard) Well yes you are right babies do drink out of them.

Spunky Boy: Monkey Boy (Little brother) drank from you when he was born. But he’s not born anymore so he doesn’t drink anymore.

Me: Yes Monkey boy isn’t little anymore so he drinks from a cup now.

You gotta love an early morning lesson on the anatomy of the human body and nursing!

One thought on “Breasts: Conversations with a 4 Year Old

  1. Ha ha, this reminded me of a conversation I recently had with my son, aged 2 & 3/4
    E: Mummy, are you a cow? (E places his little metal bucket under me whilst I am squatting and filling a bucket from the water tank).
    Later on, he put his toy dog on my top and stuffed it down the front, saying ” Gracie is drinking from Mummy”.
    I felt rather awkward but chuckled to myself at the same time 🙂

Leave your thoughts here...

