I Believe

Daily Prompt

“For today’s prompt, tell us three things that you believe in your heart to be true. Tell us three things you believe in your heart to be false.”

3 Things I believe to be true

I believe that Jesus Christ died on the cross for my sins.

He is my savior. I have been washed clean by his blood and was born anew through him.

My husband is the man the Lord chose for me to marry.

My husband and I knew we were to be married before we even started dating. We both knew that “dating around” was not for us, nor what God wanted for us. So when we started hanging out and we wanted to start dating each other, we prayed about it, both apart and together. We would not date if we knew it wouldn’t lead to marriage. (I know, so not the ‘norm’ but we have never been ‘normal’ people.)

I would lay my life down for the safety of my children.

I love my children and would do anything to keep them safe. They are the two most wonderful boys. They make me so proud to be their mom. I can’t express just how much I love them.

3 Things I Know to be False

All the negative things I repeat to myself everyday.

I have horrible self image and horrible self esteem. I constantly pick myself apart and tear myself down. I know these things to be false yet I continue to say them to the point of almost believing them. I am so weighed down by all these lies that I can’t even accept a compliment.

I am fine.

I used to tell people this all the time. Because it’s what people want to hear, or it’s just easier. But I am not fine. I don’t ever go into too much detail. If people knew what I struggled with on a daily basis I would be labeled crazy. In fact, I might actually deserve that label. I’m currently on the journey to finding out.

I am a bad mom.

Every mom feels like this at some point. That they are not good enough. That they fall short to other moms. I think I struggle with this because of all the stress I  put myself through daily and sometimes I feel like I am not paying as much attention to my kids as should or that I am just not good enough. But that’s just not true. It’s just one of the many lies satan throws at me to bring me down further than I already am. But God picks me up and carries me through.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/16/daily-prompt-i-believe/

3 thoughts on “I Believe

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Believe | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: True and False | Love.Books.Coffee.

Leave your thoughts here...

