Birthday Thoughts

Today is my Birthday

I am one year older…not sure about wiser, although I have learned a lot this last year of my life.

A lot has happened this past year.

Let’s recap a little.

The Good

My youngest son turned TWO!

My oldest son turned FIVE!

I created this blog.

In creating this blog I unlocked some of the creative juices that have been sitting stagnant in my head for years.

I picked up an old guitar and finally committed to learning how to play.

I found out that I LOVE playing guitar! (even though I get frustrated often.)

I got a NEW guitar.

Meet Alvy. He is pretty awesome.

Meet Alvy. He is pretty awesome.

 

I got a new job.

By getting said job I gained a new friend.

I joined a mommy prayer group.

By joining said group I gained several friends.

Today, for my birthday, I got a cat! Her name is Katara. My husband’s little surprise for me. 🙂 And now I am not the only girl in the house! 🙂

Katara. The cutest present ever!

Katara. The cutest present ever!

 

I’m sure there are a lot of other great things but these are that main ones that stick out.

The not so Good (But everything turned out ok)

Right before my last birthday my mother was diagnosed with ovarian cancer.

She had surgery in October.

She had intense Chemo treatments In November and December.

During those treatments I spent those weeks away from my family to be with her in the hospital.

Those were the hardest two weeks for me.

After her second treatment she ended up in the hospital for 13 days because she had some bad reactions to chemo and wasn’t able to eat for ten of those days.

It was awful.

After that she had one more less invasive treatment of chemo.

She has since recovered, is growing her hair back, and is back to work. She is still not back to 100%, but doing much better.

Because of this, my faith in God grew stronger as I clung to Him to get her well again and to get my family through it.

Also during this year I finally addressed some of my own health issues that I was putting off because of needing to be there for my mother.

I have been treating my issues with change in diet and homeopathy.

I have been on a strict diet for five months.

This last month I have been feeling so much better! I finally feel like I’m making progress.

In February I was diagnosed with OCD.

Since being treated for my health issues and changing my diet, my OCD has calmed down and is becoming manageable.

 

All in all, despite some of the set backs, it was an ok year. I am glad to be here, I am feeling better than last year, and I am starting to feel happy again.

 

Here’s to hoping this year will be a great one!

Leave your thoughts here...

