Disconnect to Reconnect

I am Giving up Facebook.

OK, not forever. I realize that that first sentence may have caused some uneasiness for many of you. The thought of not being able to see what everyone’s doing or not posting my every move or thought caused me some discomfort as well. In fact I down right refused the possibility when it first crossed my mind. But, after a while, I realized that the “thought” wasn’t mine. It was God. He has been working on me in so many ways these past few months. He has revealed to me recently that one of the reasons I struggle with my relationship with Him is because I don’t spend enough time with Him.

I am also not spending enough time with my kids. I am spending too much time online. Facebook is a huge part of that time. It has gotten so bad that I check it literally every 2-5 minutes. Having it right at my fingertips, being able to carry it around with me, has caused it to be a part of me. I have become obsessed with seeing who liked my recent random thought. I even started wanting certain people to like it more than others. I have fooled myself into thinking that I have real relationships with people because I know what they are doing and keep up with the latest pictures of their kids.

But I never actually talk to these people.

I never physically see these people.

I am ignoring the people in my own house for a false feeling of connection.

I have been fighting it, and God just brings it back to my mind. So, after a lot of thought, I have decided to give it up for one week starting this morning.  I am not allowing myself on it at all. It is essential to my relationship with God, my relationship with  my family, and to my own mental health.

I am disconnecting to reconnect with the real world.

One thought on “Disconnect to Reconnect

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Ramblings: Reconnecting | Real Momma Ramblings

Leave your thoughts here...

