Lies Under The Carpet

The images didn’t reflect in your eyes.
Your face was completely innocent,
and so was your voice.
I never saw it coming.
I guess I forgot how much of a struggle it was.
It never left?
How could I have been so naive?
Now, no matter what you say,
“It’s not your fault”
I can’t help but see my short-comings that could have led you down that path again.
I’m so sorry if my neglect has caused this.
Sometimes I lose my head,
but I guess the trust we once had  is gone…
Not like the lies swept under the carpet.
I trusted you…was I wrong too?
It baffles me how this could have gone on for so long.
It never even crossed my mind.
3 thoughts on “Lies Under The Carpet

Leave your thoughts here...

