Revenge- Flash Fiction

Here is my entry in last week’s Flash Friday! Prompt.  We were to write a story inspired by the photo and with the theme of Aspiration.

Whetting Interrupted, 1894. Public domain painting by Jose Ferraz de Almeida Junior.

Whetting Interrupted, 1894. Public domain painting by Jose Ferraz de Almeida Junior.

Revenge

 

The last time I saw my father I was ten years old.

I was terrified, my dress wet from running through the stream to our hut.

“Stay inside with your brother. Don’t come out until I come back for you.” His eyes betrayed that he was worried. I remember nodding in obedience, holding my baby brother, shivering.

He shut the door and ran down the path, clutching his axe. The only weapon he had would never be a match for the beast. Shrill screams filled the smoky air. I tried to calm my brother who was now crying and wriggling out of my arms. I tightened my grip, brought him to our bed, and crawled underneath.

“SHHH. It will be OK.” I knew it wouldn’t. The smell of charred flesh and burning wood filled the hut. I all but choked on the stench. We eventually fell asleep after the screams stopped. My father never came back.

As I stare at myself in the water, I can see the weight on my shoulders, slightly slumped with years of hard labor. It’s been 8 long years of tyranny under the reign of these beasts.

Tightening my belt, sword at my side, I head to the mountains. Today I seek my revenge.

 

Word Count- 209

Leave your thoughts here...

