Not-So-Impenetrable Walls – Flash Fiction

Fear is what keeps me here. I am safe in my box. The invisible, self erected walls keep the unwanted filth out. I will not die at the hand of fate. I have out smarted death. Healthy is my name, cleanliness is my game. I rule at keeping out dirt. I don’t slip up. I never stop planning. Every step I take is meticulously thought out, my life depends on it. If something goes wrong, the system is ruined.

I can’t breath.

This can’t be.

I thought this through.

This wasn’t supposed to happen.

I lift my head and scream at the heavens.

My system, out the window, is flying.

_________________________________________________________________________________

This was my entry in Micro Bookends weekly contest. This story got me an honorable mention. Here is what Dave had to say:

“Great use of the opening bookend: “Fear is what keeps me here.” The character’s OCD (“Healthy is my name, cleanliness is my game”) has led him or her to this desperate situation. I really like the sense of panic from the short sharp closing sentences, right down to the Yodaesque finish.”

Leave your thoughts here...

