Ambition (Ya-Du)

This is my first attempt at a Ya-Du, an ancient Burmese poetic form. I had never heard of it before until I was challenged over at mindlovemiserysmenagerie.

This was a real challenge for me. I had many failed tries but I think I finally accomplished it.

Here are the guidelines for a Ya-Du:

1.  Lines 1, 2, 3, and 4 have four syllables;
2.  Line 5 has 5, 7, 9, or 11 syllables;
3.  Lines 4 and 5 have end rhyme;
4.  Lines 1, 2, and 3 have climbing rhyme in syllables 4, 3, and 2;
5.  Lines 3, 4, and 5 have climbing rhyme in syllables 4, 3, and 2;
6.  There should be a reference to the seasons or nature.

Here is my poem (I color coded the rhyming scheme.)

The limit, sky
Dreams will fly, reach
Don’t cry, breach walls
And each day wake
With new ambition, your life’s at stake

______________________________________________________________________________________

This is in response to B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond.

______________________________________________________________________________________

After reading the rules again I realize that I messed up the rhyming scheme. Lines 3,4, and 5 are supposed to have climbing rhyme…not 2,3, and 4. Fail. Oh well. I will post this anyway because I worked so hard and I like this poem.

8 thoughts on “Ambition (Ya-Du)

  1. Every effort is wonderful. I always bend rules, I only use them as guide lines.
    When there are many so many details it can get confusing. I like what you did.
    Thank you for visiting my post on the prompt. It was a challenge!

    • Thank you. I have a hard time with “not following rules”. If there are guidelines I have to stick to them. It’s something I need to learn to let go in poetry sometimes. But sometimes it’s imperative in certain forms. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

  2. Snap! This looks hard but I do like a good challenge… 🙂 Love your poem and you might have inspired me to give it a go. 😀

  3. Pingback: Temptation | Foy S. Iver

Leave your thoughts here...

