When the Darkness Closes In (Revisited)

meraki

For this week’s Writing Prompt at Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie we were asked to “share a poem, drawing, story, photo, sculpture, etc that you’ve put your soul into creating. Something that touches on the deepest most vulnerable parts of yourself. Something raw and exposing. It need not be something new or something created specifically for this challenge. It might be your most accomplished piece of work or it might be a piece that you have never shared before. Maybe it makes no sense to anyone other than you or maybe it has gotten a lot of positive publicity. Maybe you sit down right now, in this moment and pour your guts out. Show us what you’re made of!

I shared this poem back in April. I am posting it again for this prompt because it was written in a time of desperation. I was in the middle of one of my obsession episodes where everything was closing in. Everything seemed hopeless and nothing seemed real and I felt like I couldn’t go to anyone about it. Be careful with my soul…it’s fragile.

When the Darkness Closes In

She can not see what lies ahead

Or behind

She can not remember what held her here

Grounded to her beliefs

She can not see a future

Nor remember the past

All she knows is loneliness

Sadness

Hopelessness

All seems grim

She can not pull herself free

But then it passes

As quickly as it came

Leaving nothing but another tear

In the fabric of her sanity

7 thoughts on “When the Darkness Closes In (Revisited)

  1. Love the drawing. How many times have we all felt like this. Somehow we make it through and when we look back we’re not sure how. I don’t think we give ourselves enough pats on the back for surviving. I don’t have the answers but me – I am looking at a jug of orchids and poppies and a bowl of shiny skinned oranges listening to the humming of a fridge.This will sustain my joy factor for quite a while today ( Smiles)

  2. I like how tear (as in drop) can also be read as tear (as in rip).

    Thanks for stopping by Verses for Verseless… There are a passel of short forms to play with.
    MLMM has a page on their site. That’s where I got some of them.

Leave your thoughts here...

