Careful What You Wish For

Olympic Games, 1896; the athlete Herman Weingartner, horizontal bar champion. Public domain photo by Albert Meyer.

Olympic Games, 1896; the athlete Herman Weingartner, horizontal bar champion. Public domain photo by Albert Meyer.

Raw digits cling for dear life, pain penetrating to the bone. Muscles flex, sinews burn under acid soaked flesh. This isn’t what I pictured as a boy, staring out the window at night wishing upon a star that I would someday journey to space. I never in a million years could have imagined this path in my journey.

I shift my weight, careful not to lose my grip on the bar, my only savior from the pit below. I watch as my captors take notes. Test of human will or strength I’m assuming. I fear I may fail this one.

_____________________________________________________________

This is in response to Warmup Wednesday! Special Challenge: Include a lifelong dream that isn’t the Olympics.

Leave your thoughts here...

