Shaken Foundation

Over at Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie they challenged us to do a Loop Poem or a Shadorma.

Loop Poem Guidelines

1)  No restrictions on the number of stanzas or the syllable count for each line;

2)  For each stanza, the last word of the first line becomes the first word of line two,
the last word of line 2 becomes the first word of line 3,
and the last word of line 3 becomes the first word of line 4;

3)  The rhyme scheme is abcb.

 

Shadorma: a non-rhyming six-line poem with a syllable count of 3 / 5/ 3 / 3 / 7 / 5.

 

For this challenge I decide to do a combined poem. First and third standzas are Loop and second and fourth are Shadorama.

 

wojciech-siudmak-door-wikiart

 

Heaven seems unattainable

Unattainable to only me

Me who can’t seem to separate real from fake

Fake like the voices that won’t let me be

 

I can’t seem

To hold on to You

I have lost

My will to

Fight against these pressing doubts

So where do I stand?

 

Where do I place my feet?

Feet that can no longer hold me up

Up, where I should be facing

Facing You, holding my empty cup

 

I’m tired

I have lost my strength

Who am I?

Who are you?

What do I have left with out

The faith I once had?

2 thoughts on “Shaken Foundation

Leave your thoughts here...

